Introducing Harriet

This is my new friend Harriet, she is from Harrisville, but it took her a long time to get to me. She was born in 1979 and from the sound of it was rather neglected for much of her life.  I found her up for adoption on Craigslist. A few of her parts were missing or rusted, her wood was dusty, stained and dry but her frame was in good shape.

When I got her home I took stock of what she needed: new brake spring, new reed, a bath, new apron ribbons, a few bolts and wingnut, new apron rods. Everything but the reed was easy to get at the local hardware store but the reeds had to be ordered. I got two new reeds (the part that beats down the threads as you weave) an 8 dent (that is 8 spaces per inch) and a 12 dent. I also sprung for a set of wheels (not pictured) so that I could easily roll her around when she is folded up and not in use. Oh yes, she FOLDS!

First I had to get her washed up with some warm water, Dr. Bronner’s soap, a terry cloth towel and some elbow grease. It is amazing what you can do with soap and water. Most of the dirt and stains came off with just washing and the few stubborn spots got a light sanding with some fine grit sandpaper. Once she was clean and dry I rubbed the wood down with Howard’s Feed-n-Wax wood conditioner. I did two passes with the Howard’s and probably could have done a third because the wood was so dried out. Once all her parts and pieces were cleaned or replaced I got my friend Stephanie to come help me get her warped up, my friend Mimi helped too, mostly as a peanut gallery but a very funny one.

The first project I am working on is a point twill pattern in some Trekking XXL sock yarn and a light grey alpaca from Tree Frog.

It is so nice to be weaving again! This is my first project since I took weaving at Davis, about 6-7 years ago now. After this I think I will turn out some dishtowels or a table runner. For now this project is destined to be a long skinny (8″) scarf. We have been so busy the last few weeks not a lot more has gotten woven but I am hopeful that I can get a good bit worked in this weekend.

2 Comments

Filed under crafts, weaving

2 responses to “Introducing Harriet

  1. Lib

    I have a dishtowel pattern book, let’s do it!

    -Lib

  2. Ooooh, I am super envious of Harriet ( and the space to put her in! )

Leave a Reply

